Randall Academic Team Wins District Championship


Randall’s UIL Academic team are district champions.

The team competed in Borger last Friday and Saturday in hopes of giving Randall their 18th district championship since the school opened. With a combined total of 553 points, the Raiders finished in first place with second place Borger falling more than 150 points behind. Borger finished with 401 points while Canyon came in third with 361 points. Eight schools competed in the contest where points are earned through more than 20 different contests ranging from Spelling to Current Events, Calculator and Computer Applications, Journalism, Speech, Accounting, Science, Number Sense and more.

For each contest, students can earn points for their school by finishing in first through sixth place. In addition, those who place in the top three individually or first in team events advance to regionals.

The regional meet will be at Texas Tech April 21-22. Students who advance at regionals will compete at state in Austin in May.


1st Place Team

1st Vihar Khandhar

2nd Lyzeth Nieves

3rd Shaun Stone

4th Brody Wilson

5th Jaydan Miranda


2nd Place Team Wild Card Region Qualifier

2nd Megan Brue

Team: Megan Brue, Karley Thomas, Teixeira McConnell, Rachel Maxwell, Sierra McConnell, Jennifer Srygley

Computer Applications:

1st Aurora Maestas

3rd Evan Blankenship

6th Alyssa Johnston

Computer Science:

1st Place Team

1st Megan Brue

2nd Hudson Cox

6th Adian Poole

Other Team Members: Lukas Spears, Braeden Brandt, Ethan Beyers

Copy Editing: 

4th Alannah Comerford


6th Ainsley Osborne


2nd Ainsley Osborne

5th Alannah Comerford

Headline Writing:

1st Adrianna Ybarra

6th Joselyn Chavez

Informative Speaking:

3rd: Daniel Auburg

4th James Amundgaard

LD Debate:

1st James Amundgaard

6th: Andrew Tharp

Literary Criticism:

2nd Place Team

1st Sidney Perkins

5th Karley Thomas


1st Place Team

2nd Megan Brue

3rd Ryan Henderson

Other Team Members: Rachel Maxwell, Vihar Khandar, Aurora Maestas, Adain Poole

News Writing:

2nd Ainsley Osborne

5th Joselyn Chavez

Number Sense:

5th Megan Brue

Persuasive Speaking:

1st Luke Brown

6th Renae Phelps


2nd Sydney Tatom

3rd Zaylee Carson

4th Durand Carson


2nd Sydney Gove

3rd Brionna Todd

4th Emma Adams-Feland

Ready Writing:

1st Ivy Vo

6th Regan Sullivan


1st Place Team

1st Megan Brue

2nd Gunnar Willis

6th Ryan Henderson

Other Team Members: Sidney Perkins, Adain Poole, Rachel Maxwell


4th Destiny Aguinaldo